intro post

Hi! Here I am, attempting to be coherent late on a Sunday evening – not always the best idea! However, here goes. As you’ll hear/see in the video, I’m a mom, spouse, addicted knitter, reader, and a lifelong learner. I’m also a fitness boot camp attempter (not always successful!), and a profound believer in the need to change the way we educate our kids. My kids are 9 and 11, and are having completely different experiences in terms of technology integration in their learning, and I think we need to figure out how to improve that disparity. As a Core French teacher, I’m also really interested in BYOD, and how I can use that in my classroom, since I often don’t have access to a lab. Digital citizenship is a growing passion. Looking forward to learning with everybody!

About lisamnoble

teacher, learner, mom, clergy spouse. Knitter, spinner, reader, free-weights fan, wearer of many (hand-knit) hats. Believer in changing the world (and education) lovingly, thoughtfully and irrevocably.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to intro post

  1. Rodd Lucier says:

    The tech integration experience of my 9 year old, differs little in school to those of my 18 and 20 year old daughters. That’s kind of sad when you think about it. In fact, my daughters experience was far too similar to my own. Now that’s really sad!

    It’s nice to meet you Lisa.

    • lisamnoble says:

      Rodd:

      That’s exactly the sort of thing I’m talking about. My older son is in a gifted classroom, with a teacher who integrates technology really well. They blog, they glog, they use a number of methods to respond to what they’re learning, it’s pretty amazing. Younger son is still doing old-school plasticine dioramas – which is totally okay, as long as it’s one of a number of choices for showing his knowledge, which it’s not. I am having the occasional head-desk moment over the disparity, and how we work on it. Easy solutions are not in abundance.

      Nice to meet you, too. You come highly recommended by that dougpete guy. 🙂

  2. Fred Haas - @akh003 says:

    Congratulations on the new blog, at least I think it is new. Nobleknits is a great handle by the way. Interesting that your kids are so close to one another in age and having such different experiences.

    I have to admit, despite being a pretty progressive and early adopter as a teacher of high schoolers, I am ambivalent about how much technology my wee ones are exposed to at ages three and five. I kind of want them to play out side, draw, and paint, and do real things with real people and environments. The digital world will still be there when they get a little older. I am observing things closely with them already, however.

    Welcome to the ETMOOC Madness!

    • lisamnoble says:

      thanks, Fred. I totally agree with your ambivalence re: technology. My guys do get lots of “real” stuff, too – we interior canoe camp, spend time at Grandma and Grandpa’s property on the lake (building a new sugar bush), and a lot of other real world experiences. I teach intermediate kids, though, and I see that while they can make their cell phone work, and text their buddies in class, they’re not being exposed to a whole lot of opportunities to use the technology to assist their learning.

      Older small boy has some small-motor issues, and this year, bought himself a laptop with our help, because that’s just the easiest way for him to communicate (though his dad makes sure he’s still doing pencil-based work occasionally, just so he’s able to). Younger one has a real interest in, and aptitude for, messing around with some CAD stuff, and I’d like to see him be exposed to that as an artistic outlet as well.

      Lots to think about.

      Thanks for the response.

Leave a Reply

